Archive for the ‘Ouachita Parish Police Jury’ Category

Hakims, I20 Board Head to Court


Development of property north of Interstate 20, just east of Garrett Road and south of Millhaven Road, has hit a snag over drainage issues.

I-20 Corridor Properties, owner of the land, has sued the Interstate 20 Economic DevelopmentĀ  Corporation (I20 Board), claiming that construction of a road connecting Millhaven and Fontana Road has aggravated flooding issues on his land.

The plaintiff requests that road construction be halted until a trial decides the issue. From the petition:

Plaintiff further alleges that a part of the terms and obligations of the aforesaid Agreement between the parties which in part provided for Plaintiff to donate extremely valuable property (estimated to be worth approximately six (6) million dollars) to the Defendant for the road that Defendant and the City of Monroe, Louisiana wanted and desperately needed for further economic development for the area, that there was an understanding between the parties that the road construction on Plaintiffs property north of Interstate 20 would be such that Defendant would construct the road in question at its cost, estimated to be under three (3) million dollars, and that the Defendant would make sure that, the road, even in its finished form would serve to drain Plaintiffs property properly and would not cause Plaintiffs property to flood; moreover, had it been understood by Plaintiff that the Defendant never plam1ed to do what was necessary to make sure that Plaintiffs property would drain properly before or after development of same, Plaintiff would never had agreed to donate the property for the constructions of the roads, especially since the cost of the road over the property located on the north side of Interstate 20, was about one-half of the value of the property donated by Plaintiff.

See here the complete lawsuit.

At last night’s meeting, of the I20 Board, the issue was discussed in an hour long executive session.

Afterwards, I20 Board President Otis Chisley said that the suit was “unfortunate,” but not unexpected. He said there were discussions about hiring legal counsel to handle the matter, but no final decision had been made as to who that may be.

I-20 Corridor Properties lists as managers Joseph and Nouri (Eddie) Hakim, well known area property developers.

Eddie Hakim several years ago was the Government’s chief witness in a trial that resulted in the conviction of two Monroe City Councilmen for raketeering, Robert “Red” Stevens, and Arthur Gilmore.

Ouachita Parish Police Jury Monday


The Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ) will meet Monday, November 16, 2015, 5:30 PM, Ouachita Parish Courthouse, second floor.

Here is the agenda.

Ouachita Parish Police Jury Tuesday


The Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ) will meet Tuesday, November 3, 5:30 PM, Ouachita Parish Courthouse, second floor.

Here is the agenda.

Ouachita Juror Mack Calhoun Defeated


Four term (16 year) incumbent Ouachita Parish Police Juror Mack Calhoun (District B) was defeated by challenger Jack Clampit last night.

Mack Calhoun – 2,443 (47%)
Jack Clampit – 2,746 (53%)

Clampit campaigned on the hot button issue of water quality for West Ouachita Parish. Residents have had issues with brown water from Greater Ouachita Water Company.

Ouachita Police Jury Monday


The Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ) will meet Monday, October 19, 5:30 PM, Ouachita Parish Courthouse, second floor.

Here is the agenda.

Ouachita Police Jury Monday


The Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ) will meet Monday, October 5, 5:30 PM, Ouachita Parish Court House, second floor.

Here is the agenda.

New Ouachita Animal Shelter Estimated Tab – $3 Million


A new animal shelter facility for Ouachita Parish could cost about $3 million, architect Bill Land told last night’s meeting of the Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ).

Said Land, “I will say that we will have an estimated construction cost of somewhere in the neighborhood of $3 million.”

Land said they had finalized a floor plan after touring other facilities in the region, and consulting with the parish’s Animal Control Officer, staff and volunteers.

Operation of the present facility is funded by a 1/4 mil parish-wide property tax that brings in a little less than $250 thousand/year.

Also addressing the jury was Rita Tucker, a volunteer at the shelter. About two dozen other interested citizens were in the audience.

Tucker suggested that the jury consider calling a tax election to fund the new construction, but jurors were cool to the idea.

Pat Moore (District F) and Mack Calhoun (District B) both noted that the parish’s roads needed much work, and funding for that need would take precedence over an animal shelter.

The jury will review Land’s preliminary plan when submitted within the next few weeks.

After the jury meeting, there was a meeting of the Finance Committee to review and approve budgets for 2016.

See here the agenda.

Most notable was the administrative fund budget, from which is paid salary and benefits for administrators and staff.

A 2% cost of living adjustment was funded for 2016.

See here the documents.

Ouachita Parish Police Jury Monday


The Ouachita Parish Police Jury (OPPJ) will meet Monday, September 21, 5:30 PM, Ouachita Parish Courthouse, second floor.

Here is the agenda.

Attorney General Buddy Caldwell Joins Ouachita Court Coverup


See here the Johnny Gunter story in The Ouachita Citizen (subscription required):

AG appoints attorney for law clerk; appointment conflicts with state law

Louisiana Attorney General Buddy Caldwell has approved the appointment of a special assistant attorney general to represent Fourth Judicial District Court law clerk Allyson Campbell at taxpayer expense though state law bars district court clerks from enjoying the privilege of state appointed legal representation.

Local Candidtate Roundup


Here’s how the Saturday, October 24 ballot stacks up for area parishes.

Lincoln Parish:

Sheriff: Mike Stone (unopposed)

Clerk of Court: Linda Cook (incumbent), Ashley Page

Tax Assessor: Sheila Bordelon, Edwin Edgerton

Lincoln Parish Police Jury:

District 1: Charles Owens IV, Theresa Wyatt (incumbent)
District 2: Larry Gipson, Hazel Hunter (incumbent)
District 6: Chris Garriga, Roy Glover, Walter Pullen (incumbent)
District 7: Tim Babcock, Jody Backus (incumbent)
District 8: Rodney Bagwell, Skip Russell (incumbent)
District 12: Claire Givens, Annette Straughter

Jackson Parish:

Sheriff: Andy Brown (unopposed)

Clerk of Court: Laura Culpepper, Christy Walker

Tax Assessor: Ray Duck, Brenda Jefferson, Glen Kirkland, Lance Seymore, Joshua Smith, Bo Teat

Jackson Parish Police Jury:

District 1: Todd Culpepper (incumbent), Tom Goss
District 3: Allen Lindsay, Amy Magee (incumbent), Stanley McKaskle, Lavelle Smith
District 4: Billy Bryant (incumbent), Windy Calahan, Steve Kelley, Johnny McCarty
District 6: Rod Potts, Jr, Regina Rowe
District 7: Christina Hodnett, James LeBrun, Rodney Potts, Renee Stringer, Lynn Treadway (incumbent)

Ouachita Parish:

Sheriff: Jay Russell (incumbent), Clint Thomas

Clerk of Court: Louise Bond (incumbent), Madeleine Slaughter

Tax Assessor: Stephanie Smith (unopposed)

Ouachita Parish Police Jury:

District B: Mack Calhoun (incumbent), Jack Clampit
District C: Walt Caldwell (incumbent), Brad Hough

As we had reported yesterday, a dozen police jurors were unopposed for re-election.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers