Roberson Elected LPPJ Prez

While on a national level, it didn’t have the cosmic impact of Donald Trump’s election as President of the United States, as far as local politics goes, Randy Roberson’s election as Lincoln Parish Police Jury (LPPJ) President at tonight’s meeting was by all measures an upset.

Roberson (District Four), prevailed over incumbent President Jody Backus (District Seven) on a 6-5 vote.

Voting for Roberson were:

Theresa Wyatt (District One)
Bobby Bennett (District Three)
Randy Roberson (District Four)
Walter Pullen (District Six)
Skip Russell (District Eight)
Nancy Wilson (District Ten)

Voting for Backus were:

Hazel Hunter (District Two)
David Hammonds (District Five)
Jody Backus (District Seven)
Joe Henderson (District Nine)
Annette Straughter (District Twelve)

Sharyon Mayfield (District Eleven) was absent.

Wilson nominated Roberson, and Hammond nominated Backus.

Moments earlier, Joe Henderson was re-elected as Vice President also on a 6-5 vote. He was opposed by Nancy Wilson.

Henderson got the same votes as did Backus, with the addition of Pullen’s vote. Wilson got the same votes as did Roberson, minus Pullen.

Wilson was nominated by Wyatt, and Henderson by Backus.

We will have additional reporting later on the rest of the meeting.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: