LPPJ Adopts Budgets

The Lincoln Parish Police Jury (LPPJ) adopted amended 2016 and proposed 2017 budgets at last night’s meeting. See here the documents:

Amended 2016 Budget
Proposed 2017 Budget

There was little discussion during the vote, but they didn’t pass unanimously.

Voting no for the 2016 amended was Teresa Wyatt (District 1). Voting no on the 2017 proposed was Wyatt and Nancy Wilson (District 10).

On a budget related issue, Treasurer Laura Hartt reported that sales tax collections were significantly lower than last year.

Said Hartt, “We’re 19% lower, year to date.”

During the earlier Personnel/Benefits Committee meeting, several re-appointments to area boards were made.

However, when it came time to appoint a replacement for long-time Lincoln Parish Library Board of Control member Virgil Orr, there were three applicants for the job.

Despite a letter from the board recommending Deborah Holliman to fill Orr’s unexpired term, three of the five committee members voted to appoint Gay O’Neal to the board.

Voting for O’Neal were Jody Backus (District 7), Randy Roberson (District 4), and Annette Straughter (District 12).

Teresa Wyatt voted for Holliman, and Joe Henderson voted for Allison Mead.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: