Runoff in Jonesboro Mayor’s Race

With 16 of 17 precincts reporting, James Bradford 33%, Alvin Jones 30%.

24 Responses to “Runoff in Jonesboro Mayor’s Race”

  1. relwoF Says:

    Renee, Can you hear us now????? People don’t like you!

    • Anonymous Says:

      Oh she will just say that no one liked her because she “stood up for” something (grandstanding and never accomplishing anything). And she could never build consensus to accomplish anything because she only had one agenda, to show her tail and give hardworking people a hard time and give herself airs about what all she had done. Bradford and Holder both OK, hope they get to work together on things. Now all we have to put up with out of RS is her attending meetings full of sour grapes and framing up new vendettas.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    half of renee’s votes to mike holder and jonesboro would’ve had a win win situation with either mike or james making a good mayor. jonesboro doesn’t need kim jones or leslie version 2

    • Oldman Says:

      Yes,if renee had dropped out like she should have we would have had a good mayor,Mike Holder.We have nobody to blame but renee for the future of Jonesboro.Way to go renee.

      • Anonymous Says:

        Cry me a hand full of tears. If Holder had dropped out, then Renee could have been in the run off. Wah, wah, wah. No one to blame but voters.

        • The Jet Says:

          I really don’t think so. I think close to a third of Mike’s vote would’ve gone to James Bradford, and a lot would’ve just not voted. I just don’t think Renee’ has the voter base to get elected mayor. Alderman, maybe. Not mayor.

        • The Jet Says:

          I really don’t think so. I think a fat chunk of Mike’s voters would’ve gone for James Bradford, and another fat chunk would’ve just not voted. I just don’t think Renee has the support to be mayor. I hope she gets back on the BoA next cycle, or runs for Police Jury, I do believe her voice is needed. But she just doesn’t have the political base for higher office.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    thanks renee

  4. ME Says:

    Wat to go Renee. Apparently your ego is larger than your brain. I guess everyone else knew also because no one would cover my bet that you were gonna screw things up.

  5. Donald Maroon Fouler Says:

    Thank you, Renee Stringer. You have single-handedly taken the votes needed to elect a competent person for mayor. Thank you so much.

  6. The Jet Says:

    I thought Renee’s presence in the race wouldn’t be impactful. I was wrong. She cost Mike Holder a spot in the runoff. 90% of her votes would’ve gone to Holder, but that wouldn’t have gone the other way without him in the race. The demographics have flipped from 20 years ago, and now whites have to fully unite behind one candidate to have any hope of a white mayor.

    Bradford lead strong, no surprise there.

    Kim Jones did MUCH better than I expected. I honestly had him getting low 20s, 22-23%. 29%? Whoa. How did he do it? Looking at the precinct breakdown, he dominated early voting. He wasn’t the lead vote getter in a single precinct. Didn’t matter, he had such a huge lead after early voting it was already over. Same strategy Leslie worked to a T four years ago, and it pays off yet again.

    Also, going back to the numbers, Bradford did much better in traditionally “white” areas whereas Holder and Stringer got almost nothing out of black precincts. Part of that is more blacks moving to live all over town instead of just the traditional “black” side of town, but also I believe Bradford got some white voters. He is the only candidate who seems to have crossover appeal.

    That makes this runoff interesting. We’ve never had a race in Jonesboro with two black candidates, no white candidate, and the white vote being the kingmaker (it’s always been the other way around for parish races). Who can pull white voters better, Bradford or Jones? Will Kim go “racial” to galvanize support and win Leslie’s faction? Who will the pastors back? Gonna be wuite educational to see what happens.

    • The Jet Says:

      Quite educational, my bad.

    • Oldman Says:

      Kim Jones is another Leslie Thompson,he will tell the black voters what they want to hear. Free water,high paying jobs,cut their grass free,free party’s in the park,you name it. Another A-1. I forgot he will have all his kin folks in city hall with high paying jobs. Did I forget anything?

      • The Jet Says:

        I don’t know if I buy that. I don’t personally know Kim, but the friends and family I know that’ve had dealings with him have never had anything bad to say about him. I know he burned Leslie’s biscuits on his mayoral runs in 98 and 2002, and there were rampant rumors that he was a paid-off stalking horse set up by the white folks to split the black vote. Whether that’s true or not, I cannot say. I know he was on the board awhile back too, does anyone remember what he was like then? In any event, a trained seal could do a better job than Steak Sauce.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    James Bradford the best choice, at this point, by far.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    James Bradford was the best from the start.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t understand why this has to be black or white. I think Renee should’ve dropped out cause there was no way of her winning. Saying all her votes would’ve gone the Mike is just racist. This race should be about making Jonesboro better not white or black. Kim Jones is Leslie all over people need to wake up and do some homework. If Renee cares as much about Jonesboro as she says she does she will get out and work to support James, as should Mike. I suspect Mike and Renee will just go home and say I tried instead of continuing to work to make Jonesboro better, I hope I’m wrong.

    • Anonymous Says:

      She has no power or inclination to make the town better.

    • The Jet Says:

      Not Mike. I think he genuinely cares about the community and wants it to be as good as it can be, whether he is a chief or a brave, doesn’t matter. He certainly could’ve moved out to Quitman or Weston like so many, but he’s still there. I think he would help out in any way asked if Bradford approached him.

      I hope Renee’ stays plugged in and maybe, if things shake out, she might get back on the Board. Her voice is needed.

      I hope James Bradford or Kim Jones, whoever wins, can be a uniter and not a divider. That is what is needed right now.

  10. Oldman Says:

    Kim Jones is the brother in law to Leslie Thompson ,does that tell you something.Leslie has got Kim running so he can still have some control in Jonesboro.Elect Jones and get Leslie,boy what Jonesboro has turned into and it used to be a very good town.

  11. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve read these comments concerning Kim Jones and must say that I went to school with him and he was a leader then and even though I don’t live there anymore Kim will be the best man for the job. all of you have forgotten that just a few days ago James Bradford son was found guilty of molesting those kids so my opinion is how many more will he do if his daddy is mayor. I guess his son can molest one of OUR kids then. My mother said everything that comes out of his mouth is iiiiii until she was convinced that anybody with that many iiiii is not about UNITY.

  12. Anonymous Says:

    A few days ago? Seems more like 6 years ago. Are all parents accountable for their children’s actions? I read that there is a huge drug problem in Jackson Parish – mainly among the young people. Why aren’t the parents of these young people being persecuted?
    Just saying………………..

Leave a Reply

