LPPJ Hears From Judicial Candidates

Three candidates for the Division B judgeship of the Third Judicial (Lincoln, Union Parishes) District spoke at last night’s meeting of the Lincoln Parish Police Jury (LPPJ).

Lewis Jones, Tommy Rogers, and Tyler Storms are all vying for the seat of retiring R. Wayne Smith, who was first elected in 1996. The election is set for Tuesday, November 4.

Jones cited his courtroom experience, Rogers touted his family ties and civic engagement, and Storms wanted to further his community service.

Said Storms, “The most powerful person in the universe spent His time washing feet. I’m not going to say that I’m a foot-washer, but what I’m going to tell you is that I have spent a lot of time with local projects and international projects helping children.”

Rogers said, “Many of you have known me all my life, and I think those who know me well will affirm to you that during the course of my 37 year legal career, I’ve shown good judgement in my personal life. I’ve shown good judgement in my professional life, my civic life, and my business life. The type of good judgement that you should expect and demand from your district judge.”

“I think the experience that we need as a judge, is someone with the experience handling the type of cases that our judges see day in and day out, and we need somebody with experience in the courtroom. I will tell you I’m 51 years old – I’ve been practicing almost twenty-five years. I have handled over a thousand criminal cases,” Jones said. He added, “Every year for the last four years I have handled more civil cases than the two of these guys combined.”

Juror Bobby Bennett (District 3) asked would they all be available to law enforcement for warrants as required.

Both Storms and Rogers said they lived within walking distance of the court house, while Jones said he would be available for such duties via fax and email.

More reporting later on the rest of the meeting.

3 Responses to “LPPJ Hears From Judicial Candidates”

  1. For good law enforcement Says:

    We need experience , vote Jones!

  2. Informed Voter Says:

    Honesty, integrity and experience are all characteristics of a good judge. Lewis Jones has been appointed by the Mayor of Ruston to the Community Housing Development Organization, an original member of the Drug Court Team for Lincoln Parish, and served as the President of the Lincoln Parish Bar Association (twice). I am confident that he will serve both parishes to the best of his ability. Vote Lewis Jones for your next 3rd Judicial District Judge!!!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Lewis Jones has the experience in all facets of the criminal justice system. He started his career at the Ruston Police Department before going to law school and returning to open his own practice. I don’t question the other candidates’ ability to handle civil matters, but Lewis is light years ahead of them in his experience in criminal matters.

Leave a Reply

